something something rolling stones

How I Found Myself Here, or Why I Became a Writer

(page 9) EXERCISE: Answer the following question in between 100 and 250 words: I’m taking out the words ‘limit’ because I’m a wordy person. I type, think and get it down until I’m done.

What obstacles have you overcome in your life to get where you are, and what obstacles do you foresee facing as you pursue your dream of writing?

rockThe obstacles that keep me from getting anywhere in my life? Pretty short list. I’m lazy as hell. It applies to everything in my life.

I don’t like doing things, I like having done things.

The trick is to bridge that gap between doing and having done. It’s where I need the biggest kick in the pants.

Oh sure, I know intellectually that my novel won’t write itself. I’ve heard all the rahrah of Ass in Chair. 10% inspiration and 90% perspiration. See, I know that. It doesn’t make getting my ass into my chair any easier. Momentum is a far bigger impediment to my achieving anything than any inspiration.

Once I get my momentum moving, I’m a steamroller. I’m hard to slow down. It’s getting the motion from being at rest. Gravity, inertia…I weigh a ton so the lever to unwedge me needs to be really long.

So the key is, how to overcome this obstacle that is clearly going to impede me? That’s the real crux of the problem and one that I will continue to examine as I move through Mugging the Muse.

Leave a Reply

