I love it when a plan comes together

ImageAfter a rough couple of months getting my personal life squared away and my professional goals back on track, I am at a place where I can do something I’ve wanted to do for years now.

It’s a very exciting time. Exciting because I’ve managed to pull together the project I want to complete to launch this blog.

I’m not new to writing and I’ve certainly finished things before, although I have not sold yet. I have high hopes this will change if I can stay focused and continue moving forward, even if there doesn’t appear to be any forward movement on the surface.

Hence this blog was born and this project finally gets underway.

In real time, I’m just a no one. An aspiring writer who cut her teeth on fanfiction in an obscure fandom almost a decade ago and for reasons had to put writing away for a time. My life is now coming back in full, and I’m able to forge ahead. Where I didn’t have the tools and the confidence to try this before, I find that being a little older, a little wiser has given me wisdom (I hope) and experience to reach out for my dreams. What I lack in wisdom, experience or even information, I have the tools necessary to find what I need.

See, I’m a How-To book junkie. I love to read how-tos. Not just for writing. None of my hobbies can escape my obsession; from my addiction to how-tos. Not just books, either. Web blogs, creative courses, advertising pdfs used to entice the casual web browser to sign up for their mailing lists…I have read so much that my thumbdrive is groaning beneath the weight of the thousands of kilobytes of information available to the aspiring writer. Politely, we won’t mention my other hobbies….

There comes a time, however, that I need to stop reading and start implementing.

Now is that time.

And since I have all these books and this advice on writing, specifically, I have decided to utilize all the information at my disposal. The first being Holly Lisle’s Mugging the Muse. I’ll use this blog to keep up with my progress through it as I work through her exercises to get thoughts and ideas in order to get my first novel written.

So this  will serve as a record of my journey. For all internetlandia to see, I’m documenting it all. My successes, my failures, my plans, my direction changes, here as a reminder that I want to do this. I want to do this. 

Starting Friday, my work through of Holly Lisle’s Mugging the Muse.

Image  © Evhen | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

Leave a Reply

